photography, Tampa

Tall Ships in Tampa

Canon 30D, f8, 1/640 sec, ISO 100, 28mm. Post editing in CS3

Last weekend, 3 Tall Ships arrived in Tampa. I lucked out when I decided to head to Davis Islands in search of  a good vantage spot. Originally, I was going to set up at the docking area at the convention center.

I arrived a little early to set up a tripod and test everything out. I debated about using my polarizing filter and ended up using it for some shots and not for others. Since there were 3 ships coming in, I figured I had wiggle room. What I didn’t count on is having to switch from AV to TV once the ships came in front of me. I was surprised to see so much blur; the ships certainly didn’t seem to be moving all that quickly. I also found that I didn’t really use the tripod, either.

Just before the first ship came into view, a WFLA/Trib photog/videographer set up shop next to me. He had a lens as long as my arm and as wide as my thigh…sigh.  Serious lens envy.

I had a good time, met some lovely people, and will definitely remember to bring water and extra sunscreen next time!

Leave a Reply

